National Contacts Keywords
Back to Index
About this feature.
Size: View this resource with small text View this resource with medium text View this resource with large text View this resource with high visibility

PoCA List (Protection of Children Act 1999)

The Protection of Children Act 1989 introduced the Protection of Children Act (PoCA) List in which the Secretary of State had a duty to record the names of individuals who were considered unsuitable to work with children.

Since October 2009, the PoCA List has been replaced by the Children's and Adults' Barred Lists which are part of the Vetting and Barring Scheme run by the Disclosure and Barring Service (previously the Independent Safeguarding Authority).

tri.x logo

We provide online procedures, click here for more information.