National Contacts Keywords
Back to Index
About this feature.
Size: View this resource with small text View this resource with medium text View this resource with large text View this resource with high visibility

Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs)

On 1 April 2013, Primary Care Trusts (‘PCT’s) were abolished and replaced with Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs). CCGs have taken on many of the functions of PCTs and in addition some functions previously undertaken by the Department of Health.

All GP practices belong now to a CCG and the groups also include other health professionals, such as nurses. CCGs commission most services, including:

  • Planned hospital care;
  • Rehabilitative care;
  • Urgent and emergency care (including out-of-hours);
  • Most community health services;
  • Mental health and learning disability services.

CCGs can commission any service provider that meets NHS standards and costs. These can be NHS hospitals, social enterprises, charities, or private sector providers.

However, they must be assured of the quality of services they commission, taking into account both National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) guidelines and the Care Quality Commission's (CQC) data about service providers.

tri.x logo

We provide online procedures, click here for more information.